Lifeburst

Lifeburst

The wallflower is flowering by the wall, the daffodils and tulips are shooting up, and the days are starting to get longer.

So by my definition, spring is underway! Hope this picture conveys a sense of the rich, joyful energy of new life bursting forth.

(Life which includes moths!!! I’ve had the trap out for the past few nights, as it’s been mild, and caught nothing, but I’ll keep trying – there are some species flying at this time of year.)

I’m looking forward to all the experiences 2013 will bring – one of which is (hopefully) university! Another thing I’m looking forward to is not spending my summer watching terns through a telescope! (Don’t ask.)

I wonder if 2013 can be any more moth-tastic than was 2012 – my moth year list came to 273 species!! I have, amongst others, Catherine Bertrand, Andrew Crory and Ted Rolston to thank for some memorable mothy moments. Hopefully it’ll be better on the butterfly front this year – nationally last year was quite poor for butterflies, and I didn’t see as many as usual myself.

I learned some lessons in 2012 too. Like, when you open your mind to new ideas and perspectives, a whole truckload of bs falls in along with the gold dust you’re after. (I’ll say no more.) There were plenty more lessons – some I haven’t unwrapped yet.

Anyway, you can expect more sporadic, spontaneous, randomsocks writing from The Caterpillar in 2013! (Including the return of The Planets!)

Sam

