Angle Shades!

Angle Shades on cotoneaster, 16 May 2012

Bellissimo.

Finally, on Wednesday, I got a good night for dusking: calm, cloudy, reasonably mild, and beginning to rain. I’ve been waiting for a decent moth night for a few weeks since the huge cotoneaster plants came into bloom. They produce myriads of little pink-red teacup-shaped flowers that insects find irresistible. As you can see from my last post, the bees have been especially loving it.

Still, with near-perfect conditions all I could see in the first twenty minutes were an assortment of flies: some dancing in the air, some clambering awkwardly over plants… some making babies on the elder. Two White-shouldered House Moths showed up AGAIN.

But at last, Angie appeared and made it worthwhile. Sitting serenely on the cotoneaster by the steps, sipping nectar. And she (or he) was gracious enough stay for a photo or two.

Or fifteen.

Angle Shades, 16 May 2012

On my finger!

