Endrosis sarcitrella, 5 Apr 2012

Woopwoop!

Due to a run of cold or wet nights recently, I haven’t been putting my moth trap out. But last night didn’t seem too bad, so I decided to give it a whizz. As I was finishing setting up, I looked at the lit kitchen window and found two White-shouldered House Moths, Endrosis sarcitrella (this photo from my trapping session on 5-6 Apr). Now, I realise most people are not fond of clothes moths (even some moth enthusiasts squish them) and I can understand why. But even though it’s like counting feral pigeons on your bird transect, I record all the WSHMs anyway. It gives a more accurate picture of how frequently I see different species.

I realised just now that I haven’t actually taken time to explain my rationale behind moth trapping. In fact, I haven’t actually explained how it works!

The key thing is, insects, including most moths, are attracted to light, especially UV light. (Why that doesn’t make them fly towards the sun all the time is beyond me. Furthermore, scientists don’t have a definitive answer to why they are attracted to light at all.) So if you want to find out what moths are in your garden, you can set up a UV lamp with some kind of container that the moths will fall into when they bump into the lamp.

The moth trap I built was based on a design by a local Butterfly Conservation branch member. Instructions for building it can be found on the BCNI Resources page.

Oh yes. What did I find in the trap this morning?

28-29 APR 2012 | TRAP REPORT | 25W BLACKLIGHT | GARDEN, SPRINGMARTIN, BELFAST
8-4°C, CLEAR, WINDS TO FORCE 3, FQ MOON

Sorry if the suspense is killing you, because all there was was…

CATCH
Hebrew Character: 1!

Hebrew Character, 29 Apr 2012

If I don't be creative with these Hebrew Character photographs they will take over the blog.

