With my first day of GCSE exams under my belt, I’ll take the opportunity to share a few more photos.  I was delighted to find, that with the cotoneaster plants in bloom again in my garden, the moths were beginning to pay visits. This is the first one – an Angle Shades moth – one of which I reared from a caterpillar last year (I fed it rose leaves but it probably eats lots of other stuff).

6.5.11 Angle Shades moth

I’ve also been out running again in Glencairn Park, and found this male Orange Tip while I was counting this species’ eggs (over 100!) With it being cold, he wasn’t for going far, and I got him on my finger – magic!

7.5.11 Orange Tip male

And finally, in sunshine the next day, I found a Réal’s Wood White, which I didn’t realise were so close to home!

8.5.11 Réal's Wood White

Oh, and I saw my first Small Whites of the year – no photos though!

2011 BUTTERFLIES (NI): 11

